General NewsThe High Wycombe Cycling Club Annual Dinner 2017

[av_textblock size='' font_color='' color='']
The High Wycombe Cycling Club Annual Dinner took place on 25th November 2017 at the Kings Hotel, Stokenchurch. The  evening started with a three course meal, followed by the presentation of the club trophies for the year and finished with a disco.

The Stalwarts

At this annual dinner the following longstanding club members were awarded life membership in recognition of their contribution to the club; John Day, Brian Murphy, Harry Henley, Ann Henley, Tony Pennell, Bob Lambert and Adam Topham.

Adam Topham (four time BBAR winner) presented the club’s trophies for 2017 recognising the outstanding performances by HWCC riders on the road and also the all important off road contributions made by our club volunteers. Dena Ford took the largest haul of the evening, taking home 12 trophies including the E Why Cup for Club Senior Champion & Best All Rounder and the M Wright Cup as Club Ladies Champion and also shared the Hewgate Cup for fastest HWCC 2-up with her husband Chris.

Dena Ford with Adam Topham (right) and Ben Nichols (left)

It was also great to see the club’s promising junior champions winning trophies with Sam Hucks taking a number of trophies including the Darren Wright Cup for the outstanding young rider of the year and the Britwell Hill Climb Cup. His older brother Ollie took home the Adams 25 Cup for the fastest 25 mile TT of the year and the P Burnett Cup for the Club 25 Champion.

Guy Townsend was awarded the Astor Cup for Special Achievement in recognition of his Everesting feats including Everesting on gravel roads and on the 2,840m Cime de la Bonnette.

The club dinner was organised by Lisa Morrissey who put together a superb evening for all who attended. Another unsung hero of the club, John Francis, organised the awards ceremony and oversaw cleaning and engraving of all the trophies and it was fitting that John received the Club Volunteer of the Year Award in recognition of all his hard work.

Congratulations to all our award winners and everyone who assisted with the organisation of this event.

Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /home/ic46ju9y/public_html/wp-content/themes/oxigeno-child/views/prev_next.php on line 10
Central CX League - Race Ten - MK Bowl

Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /home/ic46ju9y/public_html/wp-content/themes/oxigeno-child/views/prev_next.php on line 36
Dan Shoobridge Wins Hillingdon Winter Series Race 2