ResultsTour of Longwick

The Tour of Longwick got off to a great start on Sunday in bright sunshine despite a gloomy weather forecast. In the very short but testing 2.5 mile prologue TT Adam Charleston set the first marker of the day in 5.53, narrowly beating Lee Goward by 2 seconds. And at the other end 12 year old Charlie Hussey showed his future potential by coming home in 8.11 and looking every bit a full HWCC racing member in his Wycombe kit.

The hilly stage proved to be a popular and challenging event.  And after a short flat and then a steep decent it began the 10% climb of Wigans Lane. This time Lee Goward narrowly turned the tables with a one second win over Adam Charleston in a rapid time of 2.28. Amongst some notable performances were 14 year old Mac Nisbet who finished equal 4th with Gareth Anderson in a time of 2.50. And newcomer to cycle sport Becky Hussey showed a taste of things to come with a very creditable 3.42, breathing down the neck of some of the stronger guys in the process.

As promised the nasty rain band spread in over the lunch period and the roads were soon awash. Fortunately by this time the whole race field and officials were all tucking into an extended lunch at the Longwick Hall HQ.  After a course inspection it was unanimously decided to cancel the sportive stage and go straight into the team time trial because of standing water on the road. As it turned out and most fortunately the roads started to dry quite quickly.

The three teams were soon underway over the 15 mile circuit. Team 2 comprising just four riders on the start line were soon setting a blistering pace lead by Lee Goward. And most remarkably Mac Nisbet was going through and doing strong turns at the front like a seasoned pro. Unfortunately Philippa Shubert suffered a puncture and Tony Eva called it a day, leaving Lee, Mac and Paul Squires to come home with the days fastest team time of 34.10. Team Three lead by Gareth Anderson came home complete with six riders in 36.24, narrowly beating Barry Davis’s  team who finished in 36.59.

After the applying the four minute rule whereby teams who finished complete got a four minute time bonus deduction Adam Charleston came out as the overall winner of the day by a mere  one second with an adjusted time of 41.21 from Gareth Anderson and Gordon Barr who were joint second in an adjusted time of 41.22.

Adam Charleston was presented with the Stuart Dangerfield trophy by Chief Time Keeper Dave Swan. And, representing his team, Mac Nisbet was presented with the David Miller trophy for the fastest actual team time.

Despite the comparatively small field it proved to be great day for team building, making new friends and great social occasion for all riders officials and helpers.

The Overall results after the four minute time adjustment were :

Name Time
Sue Croxford 45.00
Adam Charleston 41.21
Jonathan Berryman 41.24
Barry Davis 41.54
Chris Dalton 43.22
Mac Nisbet 43.38 no time bonus
Lee Goward 42.34 no time bonus
Paul Squires 44.11 no time bonus
Richard King 42.44
Becky Hussey 43.23
Gareth Anderson 41.22
Gordon Barr 41.22
David Yates 43.24
Nigel Croxford 42.24

Charlie Hussey stage 1 and 2 only due to age 12.09.

Philippa Shubert DNF stage 1 and 2 only 10.07

Tony Eva DNF stage 1 and 2 only 11.24